Mete Adigüzel

Reconceptualization of housing policies: a comparison study of social housing between Turkey and Germany


International Doctorate Programme European Urban Studies (IPP-EU, Laufzeit: 2018-2021)


Social housing policies in parallel with welfare state policies and their effects on urban development are nowadays hot topics for both developed and developing countries. In the light of these policies, a huge amount of social housing units was created in Turkey in order to meet the need of the middle- and low-income classes through Mass Housing Development Administration (TOKI), responsible institution for the social housing in Turkey. Nevertheless, TOKI’s spatial decision for the social housing has some consequences and burdens to the cities both socially and spatially. It was observed that its implementations create both social and spatial segregation, exclusion and inequality, hence injustice. The main concern of the thesis is to what extend social housing in terms of spatial location, institutional organization and design aspect contributes spatial injustices in Turkey instead of fostering urban integration. With respect to it, this thesis investigates the reasons of spatial injustice concentrating on the social housing practices in Turkey and aims to develop policies against these reasons, focusing on the dimension of spatiality in order to close the gap in the social sciences. It was selected four case study areas in two different cities, Konya and Ankara, in order to test spatial injustice.


Mete Adigüzel is a Ph.D. candidate in European Urban Studies at Weimar Bauhaus University. His doctoral research investigates the social housing policies as an instrument of spatial injustice throughout the public institutions. He concentrates on the spatial dimension of social housing where the gap maintains in the housing studies in social sciences. He is awarded researcher fellowship by a world-leading institution; DAAD. Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.


Graduate School Scholarship Proggrame - DAAD (01.09.2018-31.08.2021)