Integrated Urban Mobility – Digital Methods for Interactive Scenario Development of Sustainable Traffic Infrastructure for Emerging Cities in Ethiopia.

Network Project between Bauhaus-Universität Weimar & Ethiopian Institute of Architecture, Building Construction and City Development (EiABC)
Funded by German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), 2021 - 2024

The integration of sustainable mobility concepts into urban planning is particularly important in the context of Sub-Saharan Africa and Ethiopia in particular. At present the proportion of private motorized transport is still very low, and given the large number of cities and urban districts that will be planned in the near future, there is a unique chance to leapfrog common urban development failures of the past and establish more sustainable transport solutions to create cities characterized by short distances, healthy air and an improved CO2 balance.

The overall goal of this project is to leverage the potential of digital methods for sustainable urban mobility planning in Ethiopia. Through this project, the diverse knowledge of various disciplines can be digitally represented and made available to all, planning proposals can be generated automatically and analyzed quickly with regard to numerous aspects (land consumption, walkability, energy demand, etc.), future scenarios can be simulated, and the participation of various interest groups can be promoted through interactive visualizations.

The project takes an interdisciplinary approach across the fields of traffic planning, computer science and urban planning. It is designed as a feedback loop of method development and application and interlinks education directly to research and vice versa. Stakeholder workshops will serve as an interface for training and to raise awareness of the interdisciplinary approaches for potential users.



Collaborating researchers and teachers:

Interim Prof. Dr. Sven Schneider, Asst. Prof. Dr. Zegeye Cherenet, Asst. Prof. Dr. Ephrem Gebremariam, Dr. Berhanu Woldetensae, Philippe Bernd Schmidt, Tesfaye Hailu, Dr.-Ing. Martin Bielik, Julius Uhlmann