The scholarship commission is identical with the grant commission as per § 9 section. 2 of the »Thüringer Graduiertenförderungsverordnung«. The members of the scholarship commission are:

  • the Rector or his/her Deputy as Chairperson
  • the Equal Opportunity Officer
  • 2 - 4 professors (currently 3)
  • 1 -2 academic staff members (currently 2)
  • for scholarships of the »Graduiertenförderung«: 1-2 graduate students, who are supported by the »Thüringer Graduiertenförderungsverordnung« (currently 1)
  • for all other scholarships: 1 student representative (currently 1)

Current members of the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar

The current scholarship commission, which was elected on 6th May 2015 by the senate, comprises of the following members:

  • Chairperson: Prof. Dr. Andrea Osburg (Vice-President (Prorector) Research)
  • Prof. Dr. Hans-Rudolf Meier (Faculty of Architecture and Urbanism)
  • Prof. Dr. Kay Smarsly (Faculty of Civil Engineering)
  • Prof. Dr. Christiane Voss (Faculty of Media) 
  • Prof. Dr. Andrea Dreyer (Faculty of Art and Design)
  • Dr. Sabine Zierold (Faculty of Architecture and Urbanism)
  • Gaby Kosa (Faculty of Art and Design)
  • Britta Trostorff (Equal Opportunity Officer)
  • Clemens Peterseim (Graduate / Scholarship representative)
  • Maximilian Wiesner (Student representative)

Duty and Procedure

The duty of the scholarship commission is to improve the prerequisites for granting a scholarship and to define the funding level and its period. Resolutions are passed based on the majority of the votes of the present members. In the case of a parity of votes, the vote of the chairperson is decisive. Generally, the scholarship commission makes the decision of the scholarship grants within 2 months after the deadline for the call for applications expires.