UNESCO World Heritage Bauhaus Weimar

Haus am Horn (Foto: Roland Dreßler)
Haus am Horn (Foto: Roland Dreßler)

The State Bauhaus in Weimar represents an important chapter in the more than 150-year history of the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar and an essential part of humanity’s cultural heritage. In 1996, the »Bauhaus Sites in Weimar and Dessau« were officially added to the list of UNESCO World Heritage. In 2017, the ensemble was extended to »Bauhaus Sites in Weimar, Dessau and Bernau«.

Bauhaus sites in Weimar:

In its official statement, the UNESCO justified its selection, stating »the Bauhaus, with its sites in Weimar (Thuringia) and Dessau (Saxony-Anhalt), represents the so-called Bauhaus school of architecture which, between 1919 and 1933, applied revolutionary ideas to building design and town planning. The buildings of the Bauhaus professors, from Walter Gropius to Hannes Meyer, Lazlo Moholy-Nagy to Wassily Kandinsky, founded the Bauhaus style, which made a decisive mark on the architecture of the 20th century.«

In preparation of the Bauhaus anniversary in 2019, the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar co-operate in the working group »Culture and Tourism – Bauhaus« of the ImPuls-Region Erfurt-Weimar-Jena and with the Bauhaus sites in Berlin and Dessau in the initiative Triennale der Moderne.

UNESCO World Heritage Bauhaus and its Sites in Weimar, Dessau and  Bernau