The students at the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar are represented by a self-governing body called the StuKo (StudierendenKonvent). The StuKo was established in 2003 following a referendum at which students voted to reform their student government, previously known as the Student Council (StuRa). Consequently, the members of the StuKo are no longer elected by direct vote; students only elect their faculty representatives. The Bauhaus-Universität Weimar is the first university in Germany to adopt this model. It will take several years to adequately assess the advantages of this new type of student self-government.