Take a walk through Weimar, follow the traces of the early Bauhaus and experience the exciting past and present of the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar.
The beginnings of the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar can be traced back to the 19th century. Originally an art academy, it was enlarged after 1945 to include a number of engineering disciplines which gave the university a modern technical character. With the inclusion of the Faculty of Art and Design, founded in 1993, and the Faculty of Media, founded in 1996, the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar has once again coupled the fields of art and engineering into one institution and has been carrying the name of the famous school of design since 1996.
The Bauhaus Walking Tour Project Originally created by students, the Bauhaus Walking Tour project is an extremely successful and integral part of Weimar’s cultural landscape. The tour guides, all of whom are prospective architects, civil engineers, cultural scholars or artists, show visitors what it means to them to study, learn, live and have fun at this unique university with its eventful history. The visitors are taken to the historic Bauhaus sites where they can relive the past and present of the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar. Indeed studying at such an institution is like joining the ranks of the renowned Bauhaus masters whose aura is still palpable today. For this is where Walter Gropius, Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, Lyonel Feininger and many others taught and practiced their ideas every day.
Tours Short Bauhaus Walk, app. 90 minutes » more Lang Bauhaus Walk, app. 120 minutes, incl. Haus Am Horn » more Bauhaus Lantern Walk, app. 120 minutes » more
The buildings of the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar are currently closed to visitors.
We took the 100th anniversary of the Bauhaus in 2019 as an opportunity to reflect on the historical Bauhaus, its impact and our present as a university. Bauhaus-Universität Weimar celebrated with a wide-ranging anniversary programme that focused above all on the present of our university in a new age. Find out more on our anniversary website.
The Haus Am Horn is the only architecture realised by the Bauhaus in Weimar. It was built in 1923 as an model house for the Bauhaus exhibition and today belongs to the Klassik Stiftung Weimar. Here, the masters and students presented for the first time how they envisioned contemporary building and living.
In 2019, Klassik Stiftung Weimar opened the new Bauhaus Museum Weimar and has since presented the treasures of the world's oldest Bauhaus collection. As a place of open encounter and discussion, it recalls the early phase of the most important design and art school of the 20th century, tying its history to questions of how we envision our living environment today and in the future.