The president (rector) of the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar welcomed new students at the matriculation ceremony Wednesday, 10 October, 2012, at 17:00.

Around 1,000 new students chose to study at the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar in winter semester 2012/2013, bringing the student body to a total of over 4,000. The first-semester students were welcomed to their studies in Weimar with the intoxicating music of percussionist Tomi Emilov and contributions from guests who had travelled far to participate in the ceremony.

(© Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, photo: Moritz Wehrmann)

In his speech, the president referred to the university as a place that houses the collectivity of knowledge and encouraged the students to look beyond their own areas of interest and take advantage of the possibilities that the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar offers. »We design the future of our environments here at our university. Be a part of it!«

Jana de Rudder, deputy of Social Affairs, Youth and Education for the city of Weimar, welcomed the «new Weimarians« in the name of the city and encouraged them to actively engage with the community. Weimar is a city for students. »You have the right to call on that reputation.«

Two Bauhaus-Universität Weimar alumni, Alf Mehlig and Karsten Koch, now managing director of Bencer Project Management in Shanghai and IT-Consultant Communardo Software GmbH in Dresden, respectively, reminisced about their experiences during their studies in the 1990’s, when computers were scarce and there was still no internet. They also talked about the time »after,« which led them to different countries and continents and also held professional highs and lows. The two graduates bolstered the students, telling them to expand their vision beyond the boundaries of their own studies and to always go their own way.

Four members of the StudierendenKonvents, the student government, welcomed the students as well, promoted active involvement in university life and gave them helpful tips for their studies.

The official part of the ceremony ended in the foyer of the university library, where guests of the event mingled with university employees and professors and toasted the beginning of the students’ studies.

The Bauhaus-Universität Weimar once again awarded several prizes during the ceremony. Eight students and promising researchers and artists received the university prizes for excellent performance in the sciences and art and design. The university honoured Emir Ersahin from Turkey with the DAAD prize for his efforts and engagement in a good international climate at the university.

The Award Recipients:


Faculty of Architecture

Marcel Ebert and Alexander Hollberg
AR[T]_Kade - documenta center of information and communication 

Faculty of Civil Engineering

Simon Höll
Master’s thesis »Automized identifikation of modal parameters in structural health monitoring«

Faculty of Art and Design

Kai Cui
»Works in the Degree Programme of Fine Art«

Faculty of Media

Patrick Oscity/ Markus Postrach
Project »Time Machine« (mobile sundial app)

Young Researchers and Artists/Designers

Faculty of Art and Design

Paula Weise
»Support of an International Competition adreams 2012«

Faculty of Media

Bernd Hopfengärtner
Multiple exhibits / presentations / publications with great visibility

On Wednesday, October 10th, 2012 at 5 p.m. the Matriculation Ceremony 2012 takes place at the Auditorium Maximum of the University Library.   

Afterwards the professors and staff members are looking forward to welcome the beginning students to exchange experiences and information in the lounge area.

Matriculation Ceremony 2012

Wednesday, October 10th, 2012 at 5 p.m.

Auditorium Maximum of the University Library
Steubenstraße 6
99423 Weimar



Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karl Beucke
President (Rector) of the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar

Welcoming Speech
Jana de Rudder
deputy mayor for social services, youth and education Weimar

Wolfgang Reifeneder – Crossover

Tomi Emilov
Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt Weimar

Alf Mehlig
Managing Director Bencer Project Management, Shanghai
Karsten Koch
IT-Consultant Communardo Software GmbH, Dresden

Julian Gerstner, Paul Debus, Jan Frederick Eick und Max Pieper
Executive Committee of the student government (StuKo)

Alejandro Coello Calvo – Concertrate

Tomi Emilov
Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt Weimar

Conferral of the University Awards
Prof. Dr. phil. habil. Hans-Rudolf Meier
Vice-President (Pro-Rector) Research

Conferral of the DAAD Award
Prof. Dr. Andrea Dreyer
Vice-President (Pro-Rector) Academic Affairs

The Flight of the Bumblebee

Tomi Emilov
Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt Weimar

Invitation to a champagne reception in the foyer lounge