Deadline extended!

The deadline for entries has been extended from 15 August to 31 October.

Short Film Contest: »This is Bauhaus!«

How does a typical day at the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar unfold? We are looking for impressions: creative activity in art studios and model-building workshops, tinkering and experimentation in laboratories, or lunch in the dining hall - we want to see 24 hours of real campus life, documented in a short video clip!

Students, employees, and alumni who feel a connection to the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar are encouraged to participate. Contributions may be submitted by teams or individuals. For the chosen clips, a jury will award prizes of EUR 3,000 (1st place), EUR 2,000 (2nd place), and EUR 1,000 (3rd place).

Jury members:

  • Aline Helmcke (visiting scholar, Multimedia Narration)
  • Prof. Wolfgang Kissel (Media Events)
  • Ulrike Mothes, Ph.D (visiting scholar, Moving Images)
  • Yvonne Puschatzki (Head of University Communications and Marketing)
  • Anne Schultka (member of the Faculty of Media Student Council)

The three best video clips will be premiered and publicised via the online channels of the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar. The university also intends to provide access to the winning entries through publicity efforts (Bauhaus-Universität Weimar Vimeo channel).


• Format: mp4 (H.264 encoding or Apple ProRes 422)
• Resolution: 720p (16:9; HD) or better
• Length of video: 3 minutes maximum

Please observe intellectual property rights: By participating in the video contest, you are required to ensure that the video (especially any music used) is free of any third party rights and that no personal rights are violated. All persons appearing in the video must agree to its publication. The contributors bear sole responsibility for their content (text, images, music). To request a filming permit for the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar buildings or campus, please contact University Communication.

Entries should be submitted through our online form. The deadline for entries is 31 October 2017.