Research Group

Head

Benno Stein
Prof. Dr. Benno Stein
benno.stein@uni-weimar.de3795

Interests: Information Retrieval, Machine Learning, Data Mining, Digital Engineering, World Wide Web |Projects |Lecturenotes |Publications

Secretaries

Nadin Glaser
Nadin Glaser
nadin.glaser@uni-weimar.de
Bauhausstraße 11 · Room 112
+49 (0)3643 - 58 3710 | Fax 3709
Maria Theresa Hansens
Maria-Theresa Hansens
maria-theresa.hansens@uni-weimar.de
Bauhausstraße 11 · Room 113
+49 (0)3643 - 58 3727 | Fax 3728

Assistants

Yamen Ajjour
Yamen Ajjour
yamen.ajjour@uni-weimar.de3575

Interests: Machine Learning, Information Extraction |Publications

Khalid Al-Khatib
Khalid Al-Khatib
khalid.alkhatib@uni-weimar.de3720

Interests: Natural Language Processing, Information Retrieval, Semantic Web |Projects: Intelligent Learning |Publications

Wei-Fan Chen
Wei-Fan Chen
wei-fan.chen@uni-weimar.de3811

Interests: Natural Language Processing, Deep Learning, Computer Assisted Language Learning |Publications

Astrid Frey
Astrid Frey
astrid.frey@uni-weimar.de3811

Interests: Statistical Methods, Artificial Intelligence |Publications

Tim Gollub
Tim Gollub
tim.gollub@uni-weimar.de3575

Interests: Data Mining, World Wide Web |Projects: AItools, TIRA |Publications

Johannes Kiesel
Johannes Kiesel
johannes.kiesel@uni-weimar.de3720

Interests: Information Retrieval, Web Search, Statistical Models |Publications

Martin Potthast
Dr. Martin Potthast
martin.potthast@uni-weimar.de3567

Interests: Plagiarism, Social Software, Writing Tools, Crowdsourcing, Web Comments |Projects: Netspeak, AItools, Picapica, Wikipedia Vandalism, OpinionCloud, Wikipedia Fingerprinting |Publications

Michael Völske
Michael Völske
michael.voelske@uni-weimar.de3863

Interests: Clustering |Projects: CAIR, AItools |Publications

Henning Wachsmuth
Dr. Henning Wachsmuth
henning.wachsmuth@uni-weimar.de3566

Interests: Natural Language Processing, Computational Argumentation, Artifical Intelligence |Projects: ArguAna for the Web, ArguAna, InfexBA |Publications

External PhDs

Peter Prettenhofer
Peter Prettenhofer[2009 - 2010]
Adspired Technologies GmbH, Vienna
peter.prettenhofer@gmail.com

Interests: Cross-Lingual Information Retrieval, Information Extraction, Semi-Supervised Learning, Domain Adaptation |Projects: InfexBA |Publications

Former Assistants

Maik Anderka
Dr. Maik Anderka[2007 - 2012]
University of Paderborn
maik.anderka@uni-paderborn.de

Interests: Machine Learning, Data Mining, Measuring Quality of Web Content, Semantic Retrieval Models |Projects: Wikipedia Quality, Intelligent Learning, AItools, Web Genres |Publications

Heinrich Balzer
Heinrich Balzer
dSPACE GmbH
hbalzer@dspace.de

Interests: Diagnosis of Technical Systems |Publications

Steven Burrows
Dr. Steven Burrows[2011 - 2012]
Computer Power Institute, Australia
stevenburrows81@gmail.com

Interests: Data Mining, Machine Learning, Digital Engineering, Natural Language Processing, Paraphrasing |Projects: AItools, Digital Engineering, TIRA |Publications

Steve Göring
Steve Göring[2014 - 2015]
stg7@gmx.de

Interests: Databases, Big Data, Math |Projects: Intelligent Learning |Publications

Matthias Hagen
Junior-Prof. Dr. Matthias Hagen[2008 - 2013]
Bauhaus-Universität Weimar
matthias.hagen@uni-weimar.de3746

Interests: Information Retrieval, Web Search, Query Formulation, Log Analysis, Big Data, Crowdsourcing, Text Reuse |Projects: Intelligent Learning |Publications

Dennis Hoppe
Dennis Hoppe[2010 - 2012]
dennis@dennis-hoppe.com

Interests: Data Mining, Recommender Systems, Patent Retrieval |Projects: CAIR, Wikipedia Vandalism, Wikipedia Fingerprinting, AItools |Publications

Nedim Lipka
Dr. Nedim Lipka[2007 - 2012]
Adobe Systems Inc.
lipka.nedim@gmail.com

Interests: Text Classification, Computational Learning Theory, Semi-Supervised Learning |Projects: Intelligent Learning, AItools, Web Genres |Publications

Sven Meyer zu Eissen
Dr. Sven Meyer zu Eissen[2005 - 2008]
Bayer Business Services GmbH
sven.meyerzueissen@bayerbbs.com

Interests: Retrieval Models, Web Genre Analysis, Document Categorization, Data Mining, Software Engineering |Projects: Spock, Web Genres, AItools, AIsearch, Market Forecast |Publications

Tsvetomira Palakarska
Tsvetomira Palakarska [2012 - 2013]
tsvetomira.palakarska@gmail.com  

Interests: Machine Learning, Information Extraction, Opinion Mining, Sentiment Flow |Projects: ArguAna, AItools |Publications

Martin Trenkmann
Martin Trenkmann [2013 - 2014]
martin.trenkmann@posteo.de

Interests: Software Engineering, Heuristic Search, Big Data, Opinion Mining |Projects: Netspeak, AItools, ArguAna, Wikipedia Fingerprinting |Publications

Student Assistants

Payam Adineh
Payam Adineh
payam.adineh@uni-weimar.de
Milad Alshomary
Milad Alshomary
milad.alshomary@uni-weimar.de
Janek Bevendorff
Janek Bevendorff
janek.bevendorff@uni-weimar.de
Ehsan Fatehifar
Ehsan Fatehifar
ehsan.fatehifar@uni-weimar.de
Pia Fichtl
Pia Fichtl
pia.fichtl@uni-weimar.de
Erdan Genc
Erdan Genc
erdan.genc@uni-weimar.de
Marcel Gohsen
Marcel Gohsen
marcel.gohsen@uni-weimar.de
Norina Marie Grosch
Norina Marie Grosch
norina.marie.grosch@uni-weimar.de
Katarzyna Jablonska
Katarzyna Jablonska
katarzyna.jablonska@uni-weimar.de
Dean Juerges
Dean Jürges
dean.juerges@uni-weimar.de
Andre Karge
Andre Karge
andre.karge@uni-weimar.de
Florian Kneist
Florian Kneist
florian.kneist@uni-weimar.de
Kristof Komlossy
Kristof Komlossy
kristof.komlossy@uni-weimar.de
Martin Heinrich
Martin Heinrich
martin.heinrich@uni-weimar.de
Kevin Lang
Kevin Lang
kevin.lang@uni-weimar.de
Patrick Saad
Patrick Saad
patrick.saad@uni-weimar.de