Bauhaus.Module

What are Bauhaus.Module?

How can aspiring artists and civil engineers learn from one another? How can the joy of experimentation and transdisciplinarity be integrated into teaching practice? And which issues are currently preoccupying our students? These questions form the core of the interdisciplinary Bauhaus.Module. The projects and courses completed within the Bauhaus.Module provide answers and bring together different ways of thinking and working, allowing students and teachers from different disciplines to interact. Students learn and exercise a high degree of creativity, the ability to complete inter- and transdisciplinary work, as well as the skills to confidently interact with a variety of global enterprises. In addition to this, students try their hand at teaching themselves and contribute their own topics, questions and approaches. In turn, teachers have the opportunity to develop new teaching formats and forms of collaboration.

This potential is addressed and expanded upon in the Bauhaus.Module. Projects and courses provide a variety of perspectives and enable problem-solving approaches. In addition, they: 

  • are run by lecturers from different faculties or subjects, allowing disciplinary limitations to be overcome;
  • could be important for students from various disciplines to learn beyond their own studies. In order for those unfamiliar with a subject to be able to access this content, the teaching concept must be adapted accordingly;
  • allow visiting lecturers to contribute their own perspectives (incl. in practical fields);
  • are conceived and run by students of the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar.

Thematically, the Bauhaus.Module projects and courses 

  • are oriented to the fundamental fields of methods, techniques and theories; 
  • focus on questions of social responsibility and personal development; and/or 
  • have concrete applications in project and work modules or real-life laboratories.

The Bauhaus.Module courses are published both on this website and in the bison course catalogue about one month before the semester begins.

With the Bauhaus.Module Funds, the university is able to support academic staff as well as students in their commitment and the development of the corresponding courses. See here for further information.

Bauhaus.Module benefit from the fact that the design of our living space forms the focus of research and art, studies and teaching in all four faculties. The Bauhaus-Universität Weimar combines the disciplines offered at a scientific university with those offered at an art and design university in an entirely unique way. The university has the goal of developing both studies and teaching in our teaching strategy. This includes encouraging interdisciplinary teaching and studies, making teaching and learning formats more flexible, and fostering international expertise.

Contact Persons

Prof. Christian Koch
Vice-President of Academic Affairs
phone: +49 (0) 3643 / 58 4960
e-mail: c.koch[at]uni-weimar.de

Ronny Schüler
Coordination "Bauhaus.Module"
Tel.: +49 (0) 36 43/58 12 63
E-Mail: ronny.schueler[at]uni-weimar.de

Bauhaus.Module

Was sind Bauhaus.Module?

Wie können angehende Künstler und Bauingenieurinnen voneinander lernen? Wie lassen sich Experimentierfreude und Transdisziplinarität in der Lehrpraxis gut umsetzen? Und welche Themen beschäftigen unsere  Studierenden? Diese Fragen stehen im Kern des fächerübergreifenden Lehrangebots Bauhaus.Module. Antworten darauf finden sich in den Projekten und Lehrveranstaltungen der Bauhaus.Module, in denen verschiedene Denk- und Arbeitsrichtungen zusammengeführt werden und Studierende und Lehrende unterschiedlicher Disziplinen miteinander interagieren. Studierende erlernen und erleben einen hohen Grad an Kreativität, die Fähigkeit zum inter- und transdisziplinären Arbeiten sowie die Kompetenzen zum sicheren Agieren in vielfältigen und global vernetzten Unternehmungen. Darüber hinaus  können sie sich als Lehrende ausprobieren und ihre eigenen Themen, Fragen und Herangehensweisen einbringen. Lehrende haben die Möglichkeit, neue Formate des Lehrens und der Zusammenarbeit zu entwickeln.

Im Angebot der Bauhaus.Module werden diese Potenziale aufgegriffen und ausgebaut. Es finden Lehrveranstaltungen statt, die vielfältige Perspektiven und Zugänge zu Fragestellungen ermöglichen, 

  • die gemeinsam von Lehrenden verschiedener Fakultäten oder Fächer umgesetzt werden und eine Überschreitung bestehender disziplinärer Grenzen erlauben
  • die über die eigenen Studiengänge hinaus auch für Studierende anderer Disziplinen von Bedeutung sein könnten. Dabei erfordert der Zugang zu diesen Inhalten für Fachfremde eine entsprechende Anpassung des Lehrkonzepts
  • in denen Gastdozentinnen und Gastdozenten ihre Perspektiven einbringen, die auch aus dem Bereich der Praxis stammen können und
  • die Studierende der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar konzipieren und selbstorganisiert umsetzen.

Thematisch bewegen sich die Bauhaus.Module-Lehrveranstaltungen 

  • im Grundlagenbereich der Methoden, Techniken und Theorien 
  • fokussieren auf Fragen der gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung sowie der Persönlichkeitsentwicklung und/oder 
  • haben in Form von Projekt- und Werkmodulen oder Reallaboren einen konkreten Anwendungs- und Umsetzungsbezug.

Die Lehrveranstaltungen der Bauhaus.Module werden jeweils etwa einen Monat vor Semesterbeginn auf dieser Website sowie im Vorlesungsverzeichnis bison zu finden sein.

Mit dem Förderfonds Bauhaus.Module unterstützt die Universität das Engagement von Lehrenden und die Entstehung eines entsprechenden Lehrangebots. Nähere Infos dazu unter diesem Link.

Bauhaus.Module nutzt den Umstand, dass das Gestalten unserer Lebensräume im Zentrum von Forschung und Kunst, Studium und Lehre aller vier Fakultäten steht. Dabei vereint die Bauhaus-Universität Weimar auf besondere Weise Themenfelder einer wissenschaftlichen Hochschule mit denen einer Kunst- und Gestaltungshochschule. In ihrer Lehrstrategie hat die Universität Ziele für die Entwicklung von Studium und Lehre bestimmt; dazu zählen u.a. die Beförderung interdisziplinären Lehrens und Studierens, die Flexibilisierung der Lehr- und Lernformate und die Förderung internationaler Kompetenz.

Ansprechpersonen

Prof. Christian Koch
Vizepräsident für Studium & Lehre
Tel.: +49 (0) 3643 / 58 4960
E-Mail: c.koch[at]uni-weimar.de

Britta Trostorff
Koordination Bauhaus.Module
Tel.: +49 (0) 36 43/58 12 63
E-Mail: britta.trostorff[at]uni-weimar.de